भाकृअनुप - केंद्रीय रोपण फसल अनुसंधान संस्थान
ICAR-Central Plantation Crops Research Institute
An ISO 9001:2015 Certified Institute
ICAR-Central Plantation Crops Research Institute Logo

World Soil Day celebrated at ICAR-CPCRI, Regional Station, Kayamkulam

Dec 05, 2020 : CPCRI- Kayamkulam | Author:Web Admin

As part of the World Soil Day celebrations 2020, a Virtual Interactive Workshop on the theme: Conserving Soil Biodiversity for Sustainable Agriculture” was conducted at ICAR-CPCRI, Regional Station, Kayamkulam on 5th December 2020. The programme was aimed at creating awareness about the necessity of preserving the pristine nature of soil including biodiversity to the graduate and post graduate student community. More than 200 students represented from seventeen colleges participated the workshop which was conducted through zoom platform as well as through the YouTube live sessions.



Dr. S. Kalavathi, Acting Head, ICAR-CPCRI, RS, Kayamkulam welcomed the gathering. In her welcome speech, she stressed on the importance of World Soil Day commemoration, the duties of the new age students to take up the challenge to protect the soil wealth for the sustainable development goal. The workshop was inaugurated by Dr. S.K. Ray, Head, ICAR-NBSSLUP, RS, Jorhat. In his inaugural address, he highlighted the importance of soil organic matter of soil in India, the role of soil health on sustaining plant health and thereby the maintenance of human health.



The keynote address for the session was delivered by Dr. George V. Thomas, Former Director, ICAR-CPCRI, Kasargod. He gave a detailed insight into soil biodiversity, measures to conserve soil bio diversity and so as to upkeep soil health resilience. Different measures to enrich the soil organic matter status including the crop residue recycling, biofertilisers, Arbuscular Mycorhizal Fungi etc. were lucidly outlined. Dr. A. Joseph Rajkumar and Dr. A. Abdul Haris conducted the elocution contest for the students on the topic: Keep Soil Alive - Protect Biodiversity. Dr. Jeena Mathew, Scientist (Soil Science) proposed vote of thanks. The programme was co-ordinated by Dr. Jeena Mathew, Dr. Anes K.M., Dr. A. Abdul Haris and Dr. S. Kalavathi.